The Six Geopolitical Zones In Nigeria With Their States

Nigerian Flag

The Six Geopolitical Zones In Nigeria is the division of the country into six zones which consist of states with similar cultures, history, background and close territories. The Six Geopolitical Zones In Nigeria were created during the regime of President Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida.
Below is the list of the Zones and the states that fall under each of them.

1. NORTH CENTRAL- (7 States) Niger, Kogi, Benue, Plateau, Nassarawa, Kwara and FCT.

2. NORTH EAST- (6 States) Bauchi, Borno, Taraba, Adamawa, Gombe and Yobe.

3. NORTH WEST- (7 States) Zamfara, Sokoto, Kaduna, Kebbi, Katsina, Kano and Jigawa.

4. SOUTH EAST- (5 States) Enugu, Imo, Ebonyi, Abia and Anambra

5. SOUTH SOUTH – (6 States) Bayelsa, Akwa Ibom, Edo, Rivers, Cross River and Delta.

6. SOUTH WEST- (6 States) Oyo, Ekiti, Osun, Ondo, Lagos and Ogun.

If you find this useful, kindly share and drop a comment below.


105 thoughts on “The Six Geopolitical Zones In Nigeria With Their States

  1. That’s a very good job,keep it up and thanks once again for sharing us more light based on our different geopolitical zones,within and outside…..


  2. There was never justice in the creation of this geopolital zone. This was done to remove some people from oil rich areas and there by bringing division among them.


  3. Nigeria a country that other countries look upon. Our contribution to its development can make it great again. let have a change of attitude and mind failure. that great change begins with me… what about you.


  4. On the side of the geopolitical zone division. we should not be sentimental, it will give room for more and proper development of some state and the will be a checkmate to some who believe they are grater than others. let leave it this way and face next development.


  5. Very interesting and educative write up, honestly,I don’t know some of this geopolitical zones and the states under them as such, now I know, thanks.


Kindly share your thought on this post. OldNaija love your comment!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s