Political HistoryColonial HistoryGovernment StudiesHistory Classroom

The Nigerian Council of Lord Lugard

The Nigerian Council of Lord Lugard was created in 1914 after the amalgamation of the Northern and Southern protectorates. Membership of the council was 24 official and 12 unofficial members.

The unofficial members were 6 Europeans representing commerce, shipping, banking, mining, chambers of commerce and 6 Africans made up of Sultan of Sokoto, Alaafin of Oyo, Emir of Kano, Chief Dogho Numa and a few educated Nigerians from Lagos and Calabar. The officials include members of the executive council, first-class residents, political secretaries and secretaries of Southern and Northern provinces.

This council was purely an advisory body. It had no power of legislation nor of finance. It was a medium for public opinion and not even an effective one in this regard. Most of the traditional rulers in the council could not see themselves as part of the issues of the council. Even educated Nigerians who were in an unofficial capacity did not play any vital role either.

So, in 1922, Sir Hugh Clifford succeeded Lord Lugard as the Governor of Nigeria. He abolished the Nigerian Council of Lord Lugard and in its place, a new legislative council was set up for the whole of Southern Protectorate. The North was to be governed by proclamation coming from the governor.

Thanks for reading, OldNaija.com


  1. C.C Debie. (2003). Essential Government For Senior Secondary Schools. Tonad Publishers.
Cite this article as: Teslim Omipidan. (November 10, 2014). The Nigerian Council of Lord Lugard. OldNaija. Retrieved from https://oldnaija.com/2014/11/10/the-nigerian-council-of-lord-lugard/


  1. Thanks, for this post.
    I was taught in govt. when i was still in secondary school but the explanation is not as much as this.

  2. Thanks for this post; it is educative and quite inspiring as well as historical indeed. once again’ thanks for this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button