How Nigeria got to 36 States[Timeline of State creation in Nigeria]

Map of Nigeria

Let us start with the definition of a state. A state is a politically organised body of people inhabiting a geographical entity with a well legitimate government.
How did Nigeria moved from the first 3 regions to the last 36 states? Check it out below.

1960-1963=> Northern Region, Western Region and Eastern Region.

1963-1967=> Northern Region, Western Region, Mid Western Region (carved out of Western Region), Eastern Region.

[General Yakubu Gowon]
1967-1976=> Northern Region was divided into North Eastern State, North Western State, Kano, Kaduna, Kwara, Benue-Plateau. Lagos (carved out of the Western Region), Western State. Mid Western region was renamed Bendel. Eastern Region was divided into East Central State, Cross River and Rivers.

[General Murtala Mohammed]
1976-23 September, 1987=> Abuja (FCT) was carved out of Niger State. North Western State was divided into Sokoto and Niger, while North Eastern State was divided into Borno, Gongola and Bauchi. Benue-Pleateau was seperated into Benue and Plateau. Western State was divided into Oyo, Ogun and Ondo. East Central State was divided into Anambra and Imo.

[General Ibrahim Babangida]
23 September, 1987- 27 August, 1991=> Katisna was carved out of Kaduna. Akwa Ibom also came into existence.

27 August 1991- Oct. 1996=> Abia came into existence. Gongola was divided into Adamawa and Taraba. Enugu was created. Bendel was divided into Edo and Delta. Jigawa was carved out of Kano and Yobe out of Borno. Kebbi was created from Sokoto and Osun from Oyo. Kogi also came into existence.

[General Sani Abacha]
1996- 1998=> Ebonyi, Bayelsa, Nasarawa, Zamfara, Gombe and Ekiti were created.

That was how Nigeria arrived at 36 States.

* Gen. Yakubu Gowon’s administration created twelve (12) states in 1967

* Gen. Murtala Muhammed’s administration created seven (7) states in 1976

* Gen. Ibrahim Babangida’s administration created eleven (11) states in 1987 & 1991

* Gen. Sani Abacha’s administration created six (6) states in 1996

Click here to read the Ibadan lifestyle in the 70s

Must read: Adubi War, Abeokuta 1918


91 thoughts on “How Nigeria got to 36 States[Timeline of State creation in Nigeria]

  1. The British handed over 3 regions namely; Northern region,Western region and eastern region to the leadership of Nigeria and today,we have 19 states from one region(North) out of 36 states. And 6 geopolitical zones of which 3 are from that same one region(north).
    It is now open to everyone that the the political structure of Nigeria is a conspiracy of Northern millitry rulers to forever dominate in the affairs of Nigeria and oppress the rest of other regions.


Kindly share your thought on this post. OldNaija love your comment!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s