Monthly Archives: October 2016

Ministers in Nigeria And Their Portfolios (Jonathan’s Administration- July 2011)

Goodluck Jonathan Ministers

Here is the list of ministers during the administration of President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan.



* Agric and Natural Resources (State)- Bukar Tijani- Borno

* Attorney General- Justice Mohammed Bello Adoke- Kogi

* Aviation- Stella Oduah-Ogiemwonyi- Anambra

* Defence Bello H. Mohammed- Kebbi

* Defence (State)Erelu Olusola Obada- Osun

* Education- Ruqayyatu Rufai- Jigawa

*FCT (State)- Olajumoke Akinjide-Oyo

* Federal Capital Territory- Bala Mohammed- Bauchi

* Finance- Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala- Abia

* Finance (State)- Yerima Lawal Ngama- Yobe

* Foreign Affairs- Olugbenga Ashiru- Ogun

* Foreign Affairs (State)- Viola Onwuliri- Imo

* Health- Onyebuchi Chukwu- Ebonyi

*Information- Labaran Maku- Nasarawa

* Communication Technology- Mrs. Omobola Johnson- Ondo

* Interior- Comrade Abba Moro- Benue

* Labour- Emeka Wogu- Abia

* Mines and Steel Development- Mohammed Musa Sada- Katsina

* National Planning- Shamsudeen Usman- Kano

* Niger Delta Affairs- Godsday Orubebe- Delta

* Niger Delta Affairs (State)- Zainab Ibrahim Kuchi- Niger

* Petroleum- Diezani Alison-Madueke- Bayelsa

* Police Affairs- Caleb Olubolade- Ekiti

* Power- Chinedu Nebo took over from Bart Nnaji- Enugu

* Science and Technology- Ita Okon Bassey Ewa- Akwa Ibom

* Sports- Yusuf Sulaiman- Sokoto

* Trade and Investment- Olusegun O. Aganga- Lagos

* Trade and Investment (State)- Samuel Ioraer Ortom- Benue

* Transport- Idris A.Umar- Gombe

* Women Affairs- Zainab Maina- Adamawa

* Works- Mike Onolememen- Edo

* Works (State)- Bashir Yugudu- Zamfara

* Youth Development- Bolaji Abdullahi- Kwara


If you find this information useful, kindly share and drop a comment below.


Ministers in Nigeria And Their Portfolios (Buhari’s Administration- 2015)

Muhammadu Buhari's Ministers

Below is the list of the newly inaugurated ministers (and their portfolios) of President Muhammadu Buhari’s administration (2015)

1. Abdulrahman Dambazau (Kano)- Minister of Interior

2. Kayode Fayemi (Ekiti)- Minister of Solid Minerals

3. Adamu Adamu (Bauchi)- Minister of Education

4. Barr. Adebayo Shittu (Oyo)- Minister of Communication

5. Chris Ngige (Anambra)- Minister of Labour & Employment

6. Sen Hadi Sirika (Katsina)- Minister of State, Aviation

7. Prof Anthony Onwuka (Imo)- Minister of State, Education

8. Solomon Dalong (Plateau)- Minister for Youth and Sports

9. Abubakar Malami (Kebbi)- Minister of Justice & Attorney-General

10. Aisha Alhassan (Taraba)- Minister of Women Affairs

11. Babatunde Fashola (Lagos)- Minister of Power, Works and Housing

12. Suleiman Adamu (Jigawa)- Minister of Water Resources

13. Kemi Adeosun (Ogun)- Minister of Finance

14. Ibe Kachikwu (Delta)- Minister of State, Petroleum

15. Osagie Ehanire (Edo)- Minister of State, Health

16. Audu Ogbeh (Benue)- Minister of Agriculture

17. Udo Udo Udoma (Akwa Ibom)- Minister of Budget & National Planning

18. Lai Mohammed (Kwara)- Minister of Information

19. Amina Mohammed (Gombe)- Minister of Environment

20. Ibrahim Usman Jibril (Nasarawa)- Minister of State, Environment

21. Hajia Khadija Bukar Ibrahim (Yobe)- Minister of State, Foreign Affairs

22. Cladius Omoleye Daramola (Ondo)- Minister of State, Niger Delta

23. Ogbonaya Onu (Ebonyi)- Minister of Science and Technology

24. Barr James Ocholi (Kogi)- Minister of State, Labour & Employment

25. Dan Ali (Zamfara)- Minister of Defence

26. Geoffrey Onyema (Enugu)- Minister of Foreign Affairs

27. Zainab Ahmed (Kaduna)- Minister of State Budget and National Planning

28. Okechukwu Enelamah (Abia)- Minister of Trade, Investment & Industry

29. Muhammadu Bello (Adamawa)- Minister of Federal Capital Territory

30. Heineken Lokpobiri (Bayelsa)- Minister of State, Agriculture

31. Aisha Abubakar (Sokoto)- Minister of State, Trade & Investment

32. Mustapha Baba Shehuri- (Bornu) Minister of State, Power

33. Rotimi Amaechi- (Rivers) Minister of Transportation

34. Pastor Usani Uguru (Cross River)- Minister of Niger Delta

35. Abubakar Bawa Bwari (Niger)- Minister of State, Solid Minerals

36. Isaac Adewole (Osun)- Minister of Health

***** President Muhammadu Buhari- Minister of Petroleum *****

If you find this information useful, kindly share and drop a comment below.

The Independence Speech of Sir Abubakar Tafawa Balewa on October 1st, 1960

Sir Abubakar Tafawa Balewa giving a speech on Independence day
Sir Abubakar Tafawa Balewa giving a speech on Nigeria’s Independence day

Below is the speech delivered by the Nigerian Prime Minister, Sir Abubakar Tafawa Balewa, during the celebration of Nigeria’s independence on October 1st 1960 at the Tafawa Balewa Square in Lagos.


“Today is Independence Day. The first of October 1960 is a date to which for two years every Nigerian has been eagerly looking forward. At last, our great day has arrived, and Nigeria is now indeed an independent sovereign nation. Continue reading The Independence Speech of Sir Abubakar Tafawa Balewa on October 1st, 1960

How the Independence of Nigeria was Celebrated on Saturday, 1st of October, 1960 [With Videos]

Video of independence celebration in Nigeria, 1960​

The atmosphere was filled with joy and anxiety as excited Nigerians stormed the Tafawa Balewa Square (TBS) in Lagos to partake in the celebration of the independence of Nigeria on Saturday, 1st of October, 1960. Amongst the crowd were students, cultural dancers, acrobats, masquerades and others who were all eager to paint the celebration red with their performances. Policemen stood in bands in different key places across the square to prevent or suppress any form of unwanted intrusion. It was a wonderful sight to behold. Continue reading How the Independence of Nigeria was Celebrated on Saturday, 1st of October, 1960 [With Videos]